Slammin’ Smoothies

Smoothies are a great and nutritious treat, and best of all, they are so easy to make! A lot of people say smoothies have too much sugar or are really bad for you, but this isn’t true if you put in the right ingredients. First off, buying a smoothie at a store probably isn’t the best choice because most of those smoothies are actually filled with sugar and artificial sweeteners. Most store-bought smoothies also contain high-fructose corn syrup (yuck!) which you really want to stay away from.  Whenever my sweet-tooth is craving something, I decide to make a natural homemade smoothie. All you need is a little of your favorite frozen fruit, some normal fruit, and whatever liquid you would like to use (milk, water, tea, etc). I find myself making smoothies almost everyday! In one smoothie you can add one or two servings of the fruits/vegetables you should be eating per day. For example, in my breakfast smoothies, I always have 3 different types of fruit, some sugar free almond or coconut milk, and I typically add chia seeds (for Omega-3s) or flax seeds. If I’m not too hungry during lunch or dinner time I typically make smoothie but this time I add vegetables. One of my favorite “green” smoothies has kale, spinach, strawberries and freshly squeezed orange juice. This high-protein snack delivers  my daily serving of veggies, protein, and keeps me full. Here’s some combinations I’d recommend:

Tropical Smoothie:

  • Frozen Mango
  • 1/2 banana (natural)
  • Frozen or natural pineapple
  • Coconut Milk

Wild Berry Smoothie:

  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen blueberries
  • Greek yogurt (raspberry)
  • Water

Morning Smoothie

  • 1/2 banana (natural)
  • Frozen blueberries and strawberries
  • Coconut Water
  • Chia seeds

 

One thought on “Slammin’ Smoothies

Leave a Reply

